What is Panchang or Panchangam

To find out an auspicious date (Shubh Muhurat), Hindus usually resort to Panchang. According to the Hindu calendar, Panchangam is a Sanskrit word in which ‘Panch’ means ‘Five’ and ‘anga’ means ‘limb’. These five limbs refer to the five limbs of the calendar. The five limbs or parts of the Panchang are Tithi, Vara, Nakshatra, Yoga, and Karana. This Panchang tells us the favorable and unfavorable dates and statistics by referring to astronomical positions of the stars and planets. As these stars and planets can impact different aspects of human life like love, marriage, education, and others. It can be called as a Spiritual and Scientific calendar.

Why Is Panchang Important?

Panchang is a comprehensive way of determining the important dates in a calendar. Not only in hindu culture but in many cultures it is believed that planetary movement affects our different areas of life. Important parts of life like occupation, marriage, health, career, etc. are under the influence of planets, zodiac, constellation. So before finalizing any important deal or making a big decision, Panchang should be considered beforehand. Indeed it is really helpful in performing day to day activities at the right time so that the actions lead to upliftment.

Determining the right date and time according to the Hindu calendar can save us from many hassles and problems in life. Especially before marriages, Panchang in Hindu culture is of immense importance. A priest or the astrologer recommends the auspicious date and month to organize the marriage ceremony. In ancient times the time of conception and time of birth also is calculated with the help of panchangam to have a pious soul as a child. For the betterment of child one also considers panchang to calculate the right time for the birth of child. Like the marriage and birth there are also other important activities for which panchangam is considered. Even for performing sacrifices, pooja, worships etc one should consult the panchang. Also to avoid bad days and times Panchangam is important.

Though the background knowledge of Vedic astrology is vast, we should consider only qualified astrologers or priest to analyze the planet positioning and their effects. When life’s momentum is in congruence with planetary movements and stars, it can accelerate the accomplishment of our worldly goals and objectives. And as a result we attain peace, prosperity, and progress in life.

Lets See What Are The Limbs of Panchang

Tithi In Panchang

Tithi defines the number of days in a month in a Hindu almanac or Panchang. The ruler for Tithi is Venus and the element is Water. It is used for timekeeping after reckoning the position and angle of the lunar activity. The rotation of the moon around the earth and its angle positioned to the sun with a 12-degree difference. The tithi is from the sunrise of a day till the sunrise of the next day. The Tithi has two categorization – one starts from pratipada to amavasya and second from pratipada to purnima. Amavasya is no moon, pratipada is new moon and purnima is full moon. So now we can say that tithi depends on the moon transitions.

Tithi forms the base of many Hindu festivities. Generally tithis are of 5 types, among them Nanda, Bhadra, Jaya, Rikta, and Poorna. This helps astrologers calculate the arithmetic calculations of planetary position forecasting the advantageous and disadvantageous days for the commencement of any good work.


The Vaara consist of 7 days of the week. The ruler of this element is Mars and it encompasses health life. Fire is the element for this limb. It envisages our health conditions. A weak Mars signifies sluggishness and inactivity in life whereas a strong Mars denotes the robustness to fight off diseases, fitness, and good health. The seven planets rule the 7 days of week. For example, sunday by Sun, Monday by Moon, Tuesday by Mars, Wednesday by Mercury and so on. So vaara in panchang is important to see as each day consists of the energies of the planet. So one can accordingly choose the day as per the work he wants to accomplish.


Especially Nakshatra in the Indian horoscope is a prominent component for prediction. Saturn is the ruler and the element is air. In Indian astrology, another name for the constellation (Nakshatra) is Chandra Mahal. Chandra means moon and as per ancient mythology these 27 nakshatra are the wives of moon. He, chandra spends time with each one moving from one’s place to other’s. And therefore the place where moon moves around is a palace (mahal).

Nakshatra theory predicts the accurate future and timings as it is deeper. The total number of constellations in the scriptures is 27 but some scholars consider 28. Actually when abhijit nakshatra is added then they are 28 in number. Accurate calculation of your constellations can benefit you to a great extent. Also, you can find ways to remove many types of defects and negative effects in your life. All constellations have their ruling planets and deities.

Even at the time of marriage, the nakshatra has the apex importance when matching the horoscope of the bride and groom. At the time of birth too the child name is suggested according to the nakshatra in which he or she is born. Undoubtedly Nakshatra is very important limb as it tells a lot in jataka astrology, mundane astrology, muhurat and more.


Yoga assesses the protection one gets in his life. It can state the factors responsible for the immense struggles one faces even for small achievements in life. Jupiter rules this aspect of Panchang and the element is Ether. Astrologers and priests in India analyse yoga aspect for any auspicious and inauspicious work. Yoga is calculated on the addition of longitudinal arrangements of the sun and the moon divided by 13 degrees and 20 minutes. Yoga means union or connection. There are 27 yogas. Another interesting thing is, there are 27 nakshatra (constellations). Therefore we see a correlation between yoga and nakshatra. What is nakshatra? Nakshatra is the second limb of panchang. Lets understand it now.


This element identifies our area of work or profession. The ruling planet is Mercury and the element is related to Earth. Kar is the root verb of Karana. In Sanskrit root word ‘kar’ means ‘to do’. It helps in understanding the flaws in our attitude towards work and makes us aware of the right and wrong action and profession. The deity associated with each Karana represents the work ethics and attributes of the person concerned. There are 60 Karnas in a lunar month of 30 tithis.

In astrology and day to life panchang is of great help. In ancient times in India the panchang is read and listened in the morning before starting the day to day life. It gives the direction to the individuals. Helping in telling the right timings of many important and daily routines. Whether it is buying or selling of the house, vehicle or it is interviewing for the job, or its setting up the new business. Be it a marriage, poojas, making a deal or cancelling a deal. Eventually panchang helps in all kind of work to accomplish. For this reason knowing the worth of Panchangam people used to listen the panchang in the morning only.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

You cannot copy content of this page

%d bloggers like this: